Slow Lane Life II

How we moved to the West Country and learned to slow down even more

Rescue

21 Comments

I walk into the dining room. Scooter is under the table, wearing a shifty look.

The look that says something is not quite as it should be.

So I look around, and there, under a chair, is a little slow worm. It has sacrificed the end of its tail, which should regrow, but seems otherwise unharmed.

Scooter – who lacks the killer instinct – looks as though he isn’t quite sure what one does with such a trophy.┬áNice to catch, but then what? So I decide for him.

IMG_3282Hup! into a plastic jug, and off to a wildlife-loving neighbour, who is delighted to have this slug-devouring little creature in her garden.

IMG_3283Scooter looks relieved.

IMG_1818

Author: rachel

I'm a retired, downsized, 60-something who moved from the chilly North East to the wet South West with a heap of dogs and cats. I live in an ancient cottage with them and The Gardener, and am happier here than I have ever been. I blog for fun, and rejoice in the wonderful connections blogging makes with other interesting people.

21 thoughts on “Rescue

  1. I imagine that it would have come as quite a shock to Scooter to have a bit come off? Well done for rescuing it!

  2. Poor little thing – at least it survived the encounter!

  3. Lately my outdoor cats have been leaving me some “love offerings” of voles. Not eaten, mind you, just killed and put by my gate door — so I won’t miss seeing what they’ve killed. Sigh.

    Here’s a link to the tiny vole: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vole

  4. Catch and Release …much the best policy ;0)

  5. Well, I never knew they ate slugs.
    I shall treat the family in the compost heap with a lot more respect.

  6. Slow worms are so lovely – pity about the tail but at least it survived. And naughty Scooter is a win double for out Trish. She’d be the one to catch a slow worm – if they ever found themselves in Tower Hamlets.

  7. I don’t think we have slow worms in Canada. He’s a pretty interesting little guy…a snake with ears!
    I’m glad his tail will grow back.

  8. Skinks, in quantity, on a daily basis.Geckos, too. And the other day, almost a whip snake. Oops! The Man and I managed to head that one off, but Sporran was a bit miffed.

  9. Wow! Did you find the tail, or is it missing in action? I’m really envious of you being able to pop it into a jug – looks a bit more of a tall order than a spider.
    Dan
    -x-

  10. Eeewww, reptiles. Run!!!

  11. Oh dear, I remember the slow worms. I, too, am in awe that you got it into the jug. I recall picking one up in ignorance and dropping it pretty quickly!

  12. I need to accept the fact that I am never going to be a cat owner. Unless there is a subspecies that doesn’t hunt.

  13. I’m afraid I would have screamed! I can cope with anything with legs, but not worms or snakes of any size (I know, I like gardening!). I would probably have just covered it with a similar jug and left it until husband (or maybe my kind neighbour?) moved it for me. It’s the only thing I’m such a wuss about, though.

  14. I’ve never seen one here, lucky you!

  15. I think I’d have been fine with all the above just so long as I didn’t find the end of that tail … I have a thing about severed body parts, surely I’m not alone.

    Oh, and I meant to thank you for the stitch ripper tip … I know a fluffy little old dachshund who is going to benefit immensely from that :)

  16. I’m glad they like to live in gardens. He doesn’t look like something I’d like to have for a pet.

  17. I was thrilled to find a slow worm in the compost heap once. I didn’t have a clue what it was. So glad Scooter left it relatively unharmed.

  18. Nice rescue! Scooter is a gorgeous cat.

  19. I’m always horrified if I find what I think is a cockroach struggling across the floor, until I discover it ‘s yet another cricket from the mighty hunter. She has a thing about them.
    Love the photo of Scooter – the worm not so much – but thanks for sharing it. I’ve never seen one.

  20. Well done for doing what you did. If it had put in an appearance here, I’d have been the one needing rescue ( and very possibly oxygen). I so wish I hadn’t clicked on that link.

  21. Clever Scooter – just try and refine the hunting so he catches things you might actually want caught. And a slow worm too – how wonderful. I’ve never seen one so most envious.

    Chester caught a pheasant yesterday but hasn’t yet grasped the fact that he is meant to have a soft mouth and bring them back sans toothmarks. I suspect the poor thing died of a combination of shock and teeth. Ah well, that’s one that won’t be eating my peas. If I ever get round to planting any……

Comments are so very welcome - please don't be shy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers